Rum Sultana (not) Cheesecake

I had my first fail…EPIC FAIL!! haha

It all started with a lovely idea…an easy looking recipe that would please a large group of people. We are still down the coast for the weekend, and last night another family made a delicious chicken stir-fry! Then we were all nibbling on a cheese and biscuit platter, and my home-made baked cheesecake was going to be the perfect end to the evening. And 2 of the children in the house were very keen to give a hand, which is hard to say no to. So lets just say cleaning up was interesting!!

It went wrong from the word go…I forgot to buy the correct amount of ingredients, so made 2 trips to the shops. The house we are staying in doesn’t have an electric beater, nor a rolling-pin, and not even a measuring jug! So it was all a bit of estimation and improvisation.

Ingredients:
75g sultanas
5 tbsp rum (but I used more)
300g crushed ginger nut biscuits
40g melted butter
800g cream cheese
200g castor sugar
2 tbsp vanilla essence
3 large eggs

The recipe I followed said I needed a springform cake tin to put it in, but alas, no cake tin lying around either, so I used a glass baking dish instead!

1) Soak the sultanas in rum in a bowl for about 8-10 hours.
2) Heat the oven to 150 degrees Celcius. Heat a deap pan on the stove, melt the butter and add the biscuits togther so that they mix and get sticky. Line the bottom of the cake dish with the mixture, pushing it down(with your hands is easier). Keep it in the fridge to cool and harden.
3) Whip the cream cheese with an electric beater (which I did not have – instead the 2 other kids and I used a fork each and stirred like crazy). Once softer, add castor sugar, and carry on whisking. Add the salt and vanilla essence and beat more.
4) Slowly add the eggs one at a time, and mix.
5) Add the soaked sultanas, and stir them into the mixture. I added all the excess rum too, just for some real taste, because the sultanas didn’t seem to soak up enough rum in the 8 hours. Then pour the mixture into the dish lined with the biscuits.
6) Bake for 1 hour 30 minutes. Turn off the oven and leave to cool. Then cut up and serve.

Well it was baking and smelling so good. I turned the oven off and let it cool. But everyone was impatient and wanted dessert immedietely, so I served the “cheesecake” warm. Clearly it wasn’t cheesecake…more of a warm kind of cakey dessert. The only thing it needed was some custard, ice-cream or whipped cream. And it was actually quite tasty, even though it was not cheesecake.

I left the little bit left over in the fridge over night, and took it out this morning to taste…ok ya definitely not edible cold. So instead of eating it cold I have decided it is now a warm dessert 🙂 haha

I don’t know if it was a terrible fail. At least it was still edible, just not the way it was supposed to be!! If you wish to give it a try, then I hope for you it works out and tastes good cold. But I am glad everyone was impatient and that I served it warm…cos it was much better that way!! just saying 🙂

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

